Skip to content

I want more of Windows Server 2008 RC0

October 3, 2007
Hi there, This is me again "The One Who Loves Windows Server 2008". If you’ve read my last post about this great product you’ll know that I think this is greatest OS EVER made. So after these days full-time working with win2k8 I tired to think about what I need to full more comfortable, and I know that I need all Vista Ultimate additional applications, so this is a list of vista application which are missing in this great prosuct:
 
  • Windows Sidebar: If you would have tried the beta 3 you may remember that you could install Windows Sidebar via installing "Desktop Experience Feature" but in this release no, may be ballmer does not like Sidebars or Gadgets. Anyway I like it and will install this. All you need is to copy "Windows Sidebar" folder (C:Program FilesWindows Sidebar) from a fresh copy of windows vista (SP1 would be better so the build number would be 6.0.6001.16659) or you can search for it in the web, copy it to your "Program Files" folder and run these in cmd:

"sidebar.exe /RegServer"

"regsvr32 sbdrop.dll"

"regsvr32 wlsrvc.dll"

This is it, and run the sidebar.exe and add gadgets as much as you like, but if you want the control panel item and a shourt cut in accessories you can use my installer. I used most from http://www.wincert.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=1442 so thanks Alky and all those others.
My Installer is an .inf file and after you’ve copied the Windows Sidebar folder you must copy my inf to somewhere in the PATH maybe C:WindowsSystem32 and right click on it then "Install" and when you’re prompted to restart just do it and BINGO you have sidebar installed.
If you need the original sidebar folder you may leave me a comment and I’ll send you a link.
 
  • Windows Vista Mouse Pointer: Just copy this from a Windows Vista, maybe I’ll upload this too.
  • Windows Media Center: This is what I can’t do!!!!
  • Windows DreamScene (After that Stardock Deskscapes): This is what I want the most, but till now I did have no chance!!!!
  • I don’t know more, YOU tell me what you’ve missed the more!

Update #1: The Stardock DeskScapes http://www.stardock.com/products/deskscapes announced that the version 2.0 of they software will be run under all version of Windows Vista not just the Ultimate Version, so thats something good to hear, I mean if it can run under Vista Home or something like that so it can be installed on Server 2008 I think, and the "Windows DreamScene (After that Stardock Deskscapes)" would be solved.

Win2k8 Lover,
Sadjad Bahmanpour

2 Comments
  1. Nick permalink
    November 23, 2007 12:38 pm

    This method works fool prove-like…or should I say perfectly.
    It even works copying the folder from WS2008B3 (Beta 3).
    just make sure to have your copied folder in Program Files/ not Program Files (x86)/, as the batch file is set to use the 64 bit diretory.
     
     
    Awesome to have this on RC0!

  2. Daniel permalink
    February 1, 2008 9:33 pm

    Sadjad Bahmanpour, I also think server 2008 is the best OS ever. Unfortunately, I can’t get the sidebar to work. I tried getting one from this link http://http://www.mediafire.com/?9judixo0pxoand using your installer. it sort of worked, but I dont have any gadgets and they don’t install either, I just get the bar with nothing.would you mind sending me your copy of sidebar and see if that works for me? thanks a lot.

Comments are closed.