Skip to content

Western Digital Buggy Firmware

September 7, 2007

A week ago I’ve did something which made me horrible week! I had a Western Digital (WD) My Book Premium 320GB and you know me I’ve been searching the WD Support web page http://support.wdc.com and I see a new firmware located http://support.wdc.com/download/index.asp?cxml=n&pid=19&swid=65 named "WD My Book Pro/Premium Firmware Update utility v1.08a" and I’ve download it and installed it (MyBook_Firmware_r1_08a.zip)!

And in middle of installing firmware after erasing, it says there was an error in updating firmware and POOOOOF my WD 320GB turned off! I tried to disconnect it from USB and connecting it again and windows 2003 server detect it as a "Blank Oxford USB Device"! What can I do next?

So after hours of research on the WEB I’ve realized that the external case had a chip which made by Oxford Semiconductor http://www.oxsemi.com/ and the chip number is 924DS or OXUF924DSA which is something like this http://www.oxsemi.com/products/storage/OXUF924DSB.html; I had folder under Program Files name "Oxford SemiconductorFirmware Upgrade"; So I’ve searched more and found a utility called "Oxsemi Updater Utility" which use "win_uploader_dll.dll" as main code and a JAVA SWING wrapper for the UI, so I’ve downloaded the last version which was made for 911 chipset’s and replaced the DLL with the one that firmware installed for me so I’ve created the Updater Utility v3.1.0.3 but there still nothing I cannot update the FIRMWARE; I have the latest firmware I need which is UF924DS_release.bin but the updater utility may not work on 924DS chipset!

So I feel USELESS!

I’ve emailed the OXSEMI’s but no answer and also the WD SUPPORT! You can see the support team replies below:

 

Firmware problem

Discussion Thread

Response (WD Support and Service)
09/06/2007 09:33 PM 

Dear Sadjad,
You recently contacted us by email for support on 8/27/2007.
We value your business and appreciate the opportunity to assist you.
To help us ensure that we maintain a consistent level of service and
support and to learn of areas where we can improve in customer service
and support, we would like to get your satisfaction feedback.
As a token of our appreciation for completing the survey, WD will give
you a coupon valid for $15 on purchases of $150 or more at the Western
Digital Online Store. The WD store carries all of the latest WD products
and offers free shipping on orders over $200.
Please provide us with your feedback by clicking on the link below.
Customer Satisfaction Survey Link:
http://websupport.wdc.com/rd.asp?p=es&ct=2&t=131&c=GEIDlI.&l=en
Sincerely,
Western Digital Technologies
http://www.wdc.com/
********************************************************************
Useful Links:
http://websupport.wdc.com/rd.asp?p=kb&t=47&l=en
Ask WD – knowledge base and FAQ.
http://websupport.wdc.com/rd.asp?p=he&t=48&l=en
Create RMAs, get warranty status, check RMA status, get shipping
and packaging information, change your contact information, and more.
http://websupport.wdc.com/rd.asp?p=dn&t=49&l=en
Download drivers, software, diagnostic and installation utilities.
http://websupport.wdc.com/rd.asp?p=dz&t=113&l=en
Dantz Retrospect Express – Back up related information
********************************************************************
If you do not want to receive future email support survey from us,
please use the link below.
http://websupport.wdc.com/mail.asp?e=sadjad_bp@hotmail.com&l=en

Customer (Sadjad Bahmanpour)
09/06/2007 03:33 PM 

I’m sorry for YOU not for me, THIS IS NOT A SUPPORT you are giving me.
You better put a HAZARD SIGN in your firmware page, and say there "IF YOU WANT TO DUMP YOU DATA AND NEVER SEE THEM AGIAN AND BE DISRESPECTED SO GO AHEAD AND DOWNLOAD THIS CRAP!" you better do that!
And by the way I’m gonna do what I can do to YOU, YOU COMPANY (WD), OXFORD SEMICONDUCTOR to RESPECT the customer, ’cause we pay you and you need to SUPPORT US!
I’m very sorry for WD!

Response (Don S.)
09/06/2007 10:06 AM 

Dear Sadjad,
Thank you for contacting Western Digital Customer Service and Support.
I am sorry, but again if the drive is not accessible you would need to look into data recovery options since we do not provide this type of support, and opening the external enclosure would void your warranty.
Sincerely,
Don S.
Western Digital Service and Support
http://support.wdc.com

Customer (Sadjad Bahmanpour)
09/01/2007 05:15 AM 

This is not a good support you have here, and This is not a good answer! "If the hard drive or data is no longer accessible then it is not likely we can get to the data" this is an external drive so if the firmware is gone, so the external drive is gone, but what about the internal drive it is good, if you’ve mentioned the URL I have sent you, you can see people open the drive and use their internal drive and everything is good! but I DO NOT WANT to OPEN the case I want you or Oxford Semiconductor hand me a fix! Something that FIX the drive for me, because YOU MAKE THIS BUGGY and YOU HAVE TO MAKE I WORK AGAIN.

Response (Don S.)
08/31/2007 10:41 AM 

Dear Sadjad,
Thank you for contacting Western Digital Customer Service and Support.
If there was an issue updating the firmware on the drive, it is likely cause because the drive has failed or was failing. If the hard drive or data is no longer accessible then it is not likely we can get to the data. However, you may use one of Western Digital’s authorized data recovery companies. In order to retain the warranty on the drive, you must use one of the authorized companies listed in the link. Please visit the link below for more information about these companies and our data recovery policy.
Title: How can I obtain a circuit board, repair my drive, recover data on my drive, or find a list of WD data recovery partners?
URL: http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=70&p_created=1003446260
Title: How can I replace a product under warranty?
URL: http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=8&p_created=1003424317
Sincerely,
Don S.
Western Digital Service and Support
http://support.wdc.com

Customer (Sadjad Bahmanpour)
08/31/2007 09:59 AM 

What do you mean by "You have a failed drive since it could not complete the upgrade process", You are MAKE it my FAULT?
I do not think so, I want all my 320GB of data! THIS IS YOU BUGGY FIRMWARE WHICH DID THAT, no me! So this time try not to answer me about replacing the device, I’m asking for a FIX of my device.

Response (Jeremy H.)
08/31/2007 08:52 AM 

Dear Sadjad,
Thank you for contacting Western Digital Customer Service and Support.
You have a failed drive since it could not complete the upgrade process. If you cannot exchange the drive back through the place of purchase, see the following link:
Answer Title: How can I replace a product under warranty?
Answer Link: http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=8&p_created=1003424317
Sincerely,
Jeremy H.
Western Digital Service and Support
http://support.wdc.com

Customer (Sadjad Bahmanpour)
08/27/2007 08:26 AM 

I’ve also found someone else in the web with same problem
"http://smartmoney.com.com/hard-drives/western-digital-my-book/4864-3186_7-31973275.html?ctype=msgid&messageSiteID=7&messageID=2468146&cval=2468146" please check these out, may be there is a big bug in the firmware, it first erase the flash and then fail!!!! please help me!!!

Customer (Sadjad Bahmanpour)
08/27/2007 06:40 AM 

I have downloaded "WD MyBook Pro/Premium Firmware Update utility v1.08a" from "http://support.wdc.com/download/index.asp?cxml=n&pid=19&swid=65" and I tried to install, everything went fine, except after erasing flash the firmware update utility prompt me with a failed message, and after that the hard drive is known as "Blank Oxford USB Device" it will not turn on and the blue lights are always off, I’ve tested the drive with some other computer and their windows just recognize a new hardware and no HDD.
And I also found someone else in the web with same problem and All the same "http://forums.devshed.com/computer-hardware-103/external-hdd-my-book-pro-dead-after-failed-firmware-upgrade-463204.html" I know that this is only firmware problem, can you please provide me with original firmware, because this is your firmware problem, I swear I did not turn the USB off or switch the power I have four of this device and I thank god I just upgrade one of them, please help me this is urgent.

Auto-Response
08/27/2007 06:40 AM 

Dear Sadjad,
The answer(s) below were automatically selected for you by our knowledge base. If the answer(s) do not address your question, please click on "Finish Submitting Question" and your question will be submitted to our support staff.
Title: Where to download WD software, utilities, and drivers for Western Digital products.
Link: http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/popup_adp.php?p_faqid=7&p_created=1003423281
Title: Improved fan behavior of the My Book Pro Edition II and My Book Premium Edition II Dual-drive Storage Systems.
Link: http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/popup_adp.php?p_faqid=1482&p_created=1164731298
Title: How can I tell if the noise or sound my drive is making is normal?
Link: http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/popup_adp.php?p_faqid=568&p_created=1033495201
Title: How to rebuild a RAID 1 (Mirrored) array on a WD My Book Pro II or WD My Book Premium II Dual-drive System.
Link: http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/popup_adp.php?p_faqid=1491&p_created=1166814553
Title: Limitations related to the WD My Book World Edition hard drive.
Link: http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/popup_adp.php?p_faqid=1522&p_created=1172602981
Title: How to connect and disconnect a WD My Book Premium ES Edition hard drive.
Link: http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/popup_adp.php?p_faqid=1501&p_created=1170718187
Title: I can’t use the Unplug or Eject Hardware icon to stop my FireWire or USB drive in Windows.
Link: http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/popup_adp.php?p_faqid=274&p_created=1023392680

 

 

They just want the drive to replace it, but I want them to ADMIT that they do that and they have to give me the firmware! But neither them neither Oxsemi answered me!!!! So I did something to help me! I’ve called some friend (MEM THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!) and he hooked me up with the MANGER of WD SUPPORT in IRAN and after 10 days and 200$ they’ve recovered my drive and also replaced the drive with some My Book Premium 500GB WOW!!!! This is the only thing I LOVE about this country you can do whatever you want just you need a FRIEND and MONEY (WHICH I WANT THE BOTH :D)!

 

So this was the story of my sad week! But now I’m happy (Thanks again MEM), so I just want to tell you NEVER INSTALL THIS FIRMWARE WD My Book Pro/Premium Firmware Update utility v1.08a" WHATEVER IT TAKES DO NOT INSTALL A FIRMWARE FROM WESTERN DIGITAL!!!! They won’t accept anything!!!

 

But now I have two "Western Digital My Book Premium 500GB" which means I’ve got plenty of spaces!!!

 

I’ve also was thinking about make this to RAID, but I couldn’t found an application to make to external USB drive RAID in widows 2003 server, I’ve found some command line commands "diskpart" but I didn’t use it ’cause I’ve just spend 200$ on my data and I don’t want to do it again right now!

So anyway thanks for reading this, If you had same problem just comment me so may be we can inform others not to do so…

Update #1: I’m sorry to hear this much of loss for people because of some shitty firmware made by OXFORD SEMICODUTOR, now I see http://anotherdeadblog.blogspot.com/ and some more people and I’m thinking for a way to spread this to the world: "DO NOT INSTALL THIS FUCKING FIRMWARE!". I’m loud enough??????????

So anyway good luck žádné jméno , Hamilton Pinto Jr. , Don Insalata , …

Update #2: Someone just email me about this BUGGY FIRMWARE:

Hi,
I read about yuor troubles with the firmware upgrade on MyBook.
http://sadjadbp.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!21F12BB61B822DFA!221.entry#post

Too bad that I had not read it BEFORE the firmware upgrade… now I have non working externad disk, too.

I do not care about the data loss (I have it backed up), but I do not want to return my HDD to reseller (have a business data on it). It is WD who screwed it with the buggy firmware upgrade software…

Have you found any solution to this (apart from returning it?)

Cheers
Jakub

I’m sorry to hear about this man, maybe we can do something about it! Lets everybody submit a question in http://support.wdc.com about same problem we have, maybe they do something about this, at least remove it from their website. So I’m going to Update my question, WILL YOU HELP ME?

Sadjad Bahmanpour

8 Comments
  1. Hamilton permalink
    September 9, 2007 10:46 am

    Hi There Sadjad Bahmanpour I wish I had done my Research, before applying the Buggy Firmware WD has released… I too am having the same problem and have found on the Chipset a Jumper that may set the board to Force Flash-mode the problem I’m running into is reloading the Firmware. Since I am not an experience programer I have my minor set backs… As i Can see from your reply of WD & Oxford Support staff, all seem to be useless and trained to Scam the consumer in to spending more money instead of making it a convenience to help maintain data and proper support. For staters I am able to recover my 90GB College portfolio off my 500GB MyBook Pro but now all I have is a Hard Drive not a Backup utility in which I originally Spent $300.00 for… As long as i can reload the firmware. It will be then I will become a happy customer once again. ~Hamilton

  2. Unknown permalink
    September 9, 2007 2:53 pm

    Hi, you are not the only ones
    with the same difficulties (after upgrading the firmware). At least I have my
    data backed up, so there is no loss for me in here, but! As I get it (after
    removing the plastic black case) disk should be working normally… After putting
    out the cover… mine is standard Sata WD Caviar SE16 320GB… I have a
    different problem with returning it…

     If the HDD works inside – I hope it will, then I would
    freely give my company sensitive data to WD (which I really would like NOT), so
    now I am going to put that disk out and reformat it. And after that I can either have a standard internal 320 disk (twice the
    price) and it all sucks, cause I wanted to have external backup OR I can try to return it to WD with explanation why I
    put that bastard out of their stupid  non working box. I really do now know, why they could not have some re-flash
    utility. During my life I flashed tons of BIOSes,  firmwares in cell phones, digital cameras and  never  something like that happenned. It is really unacceptable. I put that disk out after I read how  HELPFUL western digital support WAS. I even read, that the authorized recovery services are more expensive than the new HDD.  If  WD would not want to give me NEW  disk, then  I  will throw that black case out and buy a new  case (which I maybe had  have done in the first place…). I have not been such  pissed ever in my life. And the reason for the firmware upgrade was because the firmware on the disk did not supported FireWire… that is IRONY.

  3. Unknown permalink
    September 10, 2007 7:06 pm

    Cheers I found here another man, who had the same problem.http://anotherdeadblog.blogspot.com/2007/09/western-digital-my-book-firmware.html Here is about how firmware messed up the diskhttp://anotherdeadblog.blogspot.com/2007/09/how-to-open-western-digital-my-book.htmlAnd here how to put out the disk…Cheers.

  4. Sadjad permalink
    September 11, 2007 6:09 am

    Yup, I did the same ^#$@$ thing. Getting ready to take my 500GB My Book Pro apartand retrieve the data with another computer.
    On another note; Their stupid button manager driver always locked up Windows XPwhen I connected using USB……..
    Evidently Western Digital just puts out crap-ware these days !!!
    9/11/2007 3:47 AM
     
    (This comment was submitted on some other post by mistake and been moved here by me!) 

  5. Mark permalink
    September 19, 2007 8:28 pm

    My unfortunate turn of events is this :-
     
    1. Buy external hard drive (MyBook Pro 500gb)
    2. Backup my entire 160Gb of data from my computer onto it
    3. Wipe my computers hard drive and re-install XP (it was time after 4 years of installing stuff)
    4. Reconnect my hard drive
    5. Download the firmware upgrade
    6. Oh Dear
     
     

  6. Mark permalink
    January 31, 2008 7:38 pm

    Just an update for my post earlier (19/09)- After the usual email conversation with WD support trying to get them to admit in an email that it was faulty firmware (which they clearly did not want to do) I realised that the drive inside was still OK and the data on it was intact. Therefore my choices were as follows (:-

    1. Return the drive demand a refund, and hope that the shop are good enough to try and recover the data (risk there that they won’t be though)2. Pay a data recovery firm lots of money to get the data back, then return the re-assembled drive and demand a refund (hoping that the process of opening the drive isn’t noticeable enough to invalidate the warranty).3. Try and recover the data myself and then return the drive to the shop as in 2.This is one of those instances where paying a bit more by buying from a local shop (rather than mail order over the internet) benefits the consumer.In the end I decided I would go for option 3. I Took the drive apart (following the instructions at
    http://anotherdeadblog.blogspot.com/2007/09/how-to-open-western-digital-my-book.html). If you’re careful and slow you should be able to take the case apart and put it back together again without anyone knowing you have done this. I then connected the SATA drive from inside the case to another computer at my work which allowed me to copy all of the data off it and onto a network drive at work.(I admit to being lucky having these resources at my disposal). My other backup plan without this would have been to attach the drive as a second drive to my machine using a SATA cable…)I then re-assembled the drive case, being careful not to scratch the case etc.and just took it back to the shop and played dumb – i.e. "This thing just stopped working on me". They replaced the drive no questions and I was finally able to copy my stuff back across. A total palava and I got an email fomr someone today with the same problem so basically WD have still not fixed their firmware !!! You would think that there would be some link between support incidents and On a final note my MyBook has started to overheat recently and has become flaky – just stops working etc. so I actually do not trust it anymore and am planning to return it again to the shop..

  7. Harrison permalink
    February 14, 2008 4:30 am

    Has anyone found a solution for getting the wd drive to work after an now ill-advised attempt to upgrade firmware? I could return it to costco or western digital. I would prefer to avoid that due to security concerns. Drive contains customer account info

  8. do0g permalink
    March 15, 2008 11:44 pm

    I have encountered the same problem, but it can be fixed and I’ve provided a step by step guide on how to do it at http://do0g.blogspot.com/2008/03/how-to-recover-from-failed-mybook.html

Comments are closed.